Cloture Blocked On Halligan Nomination

by Ed Whelan

This morning Senate majority leader Harry Reid’s effort to obtain cloture on the nomination of Caitlin Halligan to the D.C. Circuit failed on a 51 yea, 41 nay vote—well short of the 60 votes needed. The only Republican who supported cloture was Lisa Murkowski.

Congratulations especially to Senate Republican leader Mitch McConnell, Senate Republican whip John Cornyn, and Senate Judiciary Committee ranking member Chuck Grassley.

Bench Memos

NRO’s home for judicial news and analysis.