No Cloture on D.C. Circuit Nomination

by Ed Whelan

The Senate cloture petition on the nomination of Patricia Millett to a D.C. Circuit seat failed today, as it fell five votes short of the necessary threshold of 60. The vote was 55 in favor and 38 against. Three senators (Chambliss, Hatch, and Isakson) voted present, which is the functional equivalent of a no vote.

I haven’t yet seen an official vote tally, but I’m told that the only two Republicans who supported cloture were Collins and Murkowski.

Update: Here’s the roll-call vote.

Bench Memos

NRO’s home for judicial news and analysis.