New Judiciary Committee Lineup

by Jonathan H. Adler

The Senate Judiciary Committee will have three new members, one less Republican, and a larger Democratic majority.  As reported on BLT, three Democratic Senators will be joining the committee, Senators Ted Kaufman (DE), Amy Klobuchar (MN), and Ron Wyden (OR).  Vice President Joe Biden is obviously no longer member.  Also leaving the panel are Senator Ted Kennedy (D-MA) and Sam Brownback (R-KS).  With the new line-up, Senate Democrats will enjoy an 11-8 majority on the committee, whereas before it was 10-9, taking account of the larger Democratic majority in the Senate as a whole.

Bench Memos

NRO’s home for judicial news and analysis.