Bench Memos

NRO’s home for judicial news and analysis.

Democrats Running Scared?


Twelve Democrats were among the 67 votes in support of cloture on Bill Pryor’s nomination to the 11th Circuit. These twelve included the seven Democratic signatories to the Gang of Fourteen’s anti-cloture reform agreement (Byrd, Inouye, Landrieu, Lieberman, Ben Nelson, Pryor, and Salazar). Of the five additional Democratic votes for cloture, four–Bingaman, Carper, Conrad, and Bill Nelson–are up for re-election in 2006, and the fifth, Tim Johnson of South Dakota, has a tenuous hold on his seat.

This would seem to provide an encouraging read on how the politics of judicial confirmation are playing out among American voters.


Sign up for free NRO e-mails today:

Subscribe to National Review