The Campaign Spot

Election-driven news and views . . . by Jim Geraghty.

What Is the DCCC Saying to Frank Kratovil and Baron Hill?*


We now know where the DCCC is slated to spend their money on their first and second waves of advertising.

Here’s the full list of Democratic incumbents who the DCCC plans run ads in support of: Alabama Rep. Bobby Bright; Arizona Reps. Ann Kirkpatrick, Harry Mitchell, and Gabrielle Giffords; California Rep. Jerry McNerney; Colorado Rep. Betsy Markey; Florida Reps. Allen Boyd and Suzanne Kosmas; Iowa Rep. Leonard Boswell; Illinois Reps. Debbie Halvorson and Bill Foster; Indiana Rep. Joe Donnelly; Missouri Rep. Ike Skelton; Michigan Rep. Mark Schauer, Mississippi Rep. Travis Childers; North Carolina Rep. Larry Kissell; North Dakota Rep. Earl Pomeroy; New Mexico Rep. Harry Teague; Nevada Rep. Dina Titus; New York Reps. Bill Owens and Michael Arcuri; Ohio Reps. Steve Driehaus, Mary Jo Kilroy and John Boccieri; Pennsylvania Reps. Kathy Dahlkemper, Chris Carney, Paul Kanjorski and Mark Critz; South Carolina Rep. John Spratt; South Dakota Rep. Stephanie Herseth Sandlin; Texas Reps. Chet Edwards and Ciro Rodriguez; Virginia Reps. Tom Perriello, Glenn Nye and Gerry Connolly; and Wisconsin Rep. Steve Kagen.

I went through my previous list of 99 to see who was not on the DCCC’s “help” list. (There are a few I would drop, like Frank Pallone in New Jersey and Dan Maffei of New York, barring some dramatic developments.) A lot, but not all, of these Democratic incumbents enjoy a healthy financial advantage over their GOP challengers. Among the names I’m most surprised to not see on the DCCC list: Frank Kratovil and Baron Hill.

Not on the list:

  1. Mike Ross, Arkansas
  2. Loretta Sanchez, California
  3. Bob Filner, California
  4. John Salazar, Colorado
  5. Ed Perlmutter, Colorado
  6. Jim Himes, Connecticut
  7. Chris Murphy, Connecticut
  8. Ron Klein, Florida
  9. Alan Grayson, Florida
  10. John Barrow, Georgia
  11. Jim Marshall, Georgia
  12. Melissa Bean, Illinois
  13. Phil Hare, Illinois
  14. Baron Hill, Indiana
  15. Dave Loebsack, Iowa
  16. Leonard Boswell, Iowa
  17. Ben Chandler, Kentucky
  18. Frank Kratovil, Maryland
  19. Mark Schauer, Michigan
  20. Gary Peters, Michigan
  21. Gene Taylor, Mississippi
  22. Shelley Berkeley, Nevada
  23. Carol Shea-Porter, New Hampshire
  24. John Adler, New Jersey
  25. Rush Holt, New Jersey
  26. Martin Heinrich, New Mexico
  27. John Hall, New York
  28. Bill Owens, New York
  29. Mike McMahon, New York
  30. Tim Bishop, New York
  31. Mike McIntrye, North Carolina
  32. Heath Shuler, North Carolina
  33. Charlie Wilson, Ohio
  34. Betty Sutton, Ohio
  35. Dan Boren, Oklahoma
  36. Kurt Schrader, Oregon
  37. David Wu, Oregon
  38. Jason Altmire, Pennsylvania
  39. Patrick Murphy, Pennsylvania
  40. Tim Holden, Pennsylvania
  41. Lincoln Davis, Tennessee
  42. Jim Matheson, Utah
  43. Rick Boucher, Virginia

* The linked list from Politico is not complete, despite its claim; Betty Sutton of Ohio is indeed on the DCCC list, as is Zach Space. I originally thought she was a surprising omission. Thanks, Politico. This explains how Walt Minnick was on the list yesterday and wasn’t on the Politico list today.

Tags: Baron Hill , Betty Sutton , Frank Kratovil


Subscribe to National Review