The Corner

The one and only.

Geithner Confirmed


As expected, the Senate confirmed Timothy Geithner to be Treasury Secretary.  But 34 senators voted against the nomination, including Democrats Tom Harkin and Robert Byrd, both of whom cited Geithner’s tax issues as the reason for their “no” votes.

UPDATE: I should also have mentioned that another Democrat, Russ Feingold of Wisconsin, also voted against Geithner, as did Bernie Sanders of Vermont, the nominal independent who votes with the Democrats.