DREAM Senate Vote Fails

by Katrina Trinko

The DREAM Act cloture vote just failed in the Senate, 55 to 41.

The cloture vote was on the version of DREAM that passed the House earlier this month.

Among Republicans, only Sens. Bob Bennett of Utah, Richard Lugar of Indiana, and Lisa Murkowski of Alaska voted for the bill.

On the Democat side, Sens. Jon Tester of Montana, Max Baucus of Montana, Ben Nelson of Nebraska, Mark Pyror of Arkansas, and Kay Hagan of North Carolina voted against the bill.

Correction: Contrary to my earlier update, Democratic Sen. Joe Manchin of West Virginia did not vote on the DREAM Act, although he issued a statement saying that he was opposed to the DREAM Act.

Also, for those curious, the other three senators who did not vote were Sens. Jim Bunning (R., Kentucky), former DREAM Act sponsor Orrin Hatch (R., Utah), and Judd Gregg (R., New Hampshire).

The Corner

The one and only.