Pelosi’s Picks

by Andrew Stiles

House Minority Leader Nancy Pelosi (D., Calif.) has announced her three appointees to the super-committee. Reps. Chris Van Hollen (D., Md.), ranking member on the House Budget Committee, James Clyburn (D., S.C.), assistant minority leader, and Xavier Beccera (D., Calif.), vice chair of the Democratic caucus, will represent House Democrats on the committee. A liberal lineup, to be sure, but hardly unexpected.

That means the 12-member panel is now complete. They will have until Nov. 23 to come up with a plan to reduce the deficit by at least $1.5 trillion over ten years, or face deep spending cuts, evenly divided between defense and discretionary budgets.


  • Patty Murray (D., Wash.), co-chair
  • Max Baucus (D., Mont.)
  • John Kerry (D., Mass.)
  • Jon Kyl (R., Ariz.)
  • Pat Toomey (R., Pa.)
  • Rob Portman (R., Ohio)


  • Jeb Hensarling (R., Texas), co-chair
  • Dave Camp (R., Mich.)
  • Fred Upton (R., Mich.)
  • Chris Van Hollen (D., Md.)
  • James Clyburn (D., S.C.)
  • Xavier Beccera (D., Calif.)

The Corner

The one and only.