The Corner

The one and only.

Hagel Confirmed



Former Senator Chuck Hagel (R., Neb.) will be the next secretary of defense. The Senate voted 58–41 to confirm the controversial nominee, bringing a nearly two-month battle over his nomination to a close. All but four Republicans — Senators Thad Cochran (Miss.), Mike Johanns (Neb.) Richard Shelby (Ala.), and Rand Paul (Ky.) — voted no.

Friends of Hamas was not immediately available for comment.


Sign up for free NRO e-mails today:

Subscribe to National Review