Immigration Bill One Step Closer to Passage

by Andrew Stiles

The Senate voted 69-29 in favor of the so-called “border surge” amendment to the Gang of Eight immigration-reform bill, setting up a vote on final passage before the end of the week.

GOP support for the bill has not changed since Monday, when 15 Republicans voted with Democrats to end debate on the amendment. Lawmakers have been unable to come to an agreement to allow votes on additional amendments, which Gang of Eight members had hoped would allow them to win the support of several wavering Republicans, and achieve their goal of 70 votes.

Republicans currently supporting the bill are: Marco Rubio (Fla.), John McCain (Ariz.), Lindsey Graham (S.C.), Jeff Flake (Ariz.), John Hoeven (N.D.), Bob Corker (Tenn.), Susan Collins (Maine), Kelly Ayotte (N.H.), Mark Kirk (Ill.), Lamar Alexander (Tenn.), Jeff Chiesa (N.J.), Orrin Hatch (Utah), Dean Heller (Nev.), Lisa Murkowski (Alaska), and Roger Wicker (Miss.).

UPDATE: Wicker has said he intends to vote against the bill on final passage.

The Corner

The one and only.