Senate Approves CR, Debt-Limit Extension

by Andrew Stiles

The Senate on Wednesday overwhelmingly approved a deal to reopen the government and raise the federal debt limit. The measure passed 81–18, with all Democrats and 27 Republicans voting yes.

The 18 Republicans voting no were: Senators David Vitter (La.), Ted Cruz (Texas), Mike Lee (Utah), Marco Rubio (Fla.), Ron Johnson (Wis.), Pat Toomey (Pa.), John Cornyn (Texas), Richard Shelby (Ala.), Jeff Sessions (Ala.), Rand Paul (Ky.), Dean Heller (Ariz.), Chuck Grassley (Iowa), Mike Crapo (Idaho), Tom Coburn (Okla.), Mike Enzi (Wyo.), Jim Risch (Idaho), Tim Scott (S.C.), and Pat Roberts (Kan.). 

Republican senator Jim Inhofe (Okla.) did not vote.

Previously, the Senate voted 83–16 to invoke cloture on the bill. Senators Coburn and Scott were the only lawmakers to change their vote on final passage.

The bill now moves to the House. Speaker John Boehner (R., Ohio) has already said he will allow a vote, meaning the bill is likely to pass, with mostly Democratic votes.


The Corner

The one and only.