The Corner

The one and only.

Hall of Shame


The House Republicans who voted against school choice for D.C.: Judy Biggert, Sherry Boehlert, Richard Burr, Phil English, Tim Johnson, Jim Leach, Frank LoBiondo, John McHugh, Bob Ney, Tom Osborne, Ron Paul, Todd Platts, Jim Ramstad, Jim Saxton, and Rob Simmons. The normal excuse for Republican sell-outs on school choice–the fear it inspires among their suburban constituents–don’t apply here, since this is a project limited to the District. A few of these guys have sincere objections to vouchers, misguided though I think they are: Rep. Paul fits in ths category. Most of them are just afraid of the teachers’ unions.


Sign up for free NRO e-mails today:

Subscribe to National Review