Of course, we now know the refs blew it in the 49ers-Giants game, but here are some thoughts regarding my football posts from yesterday. Thanks for all the e-mails, and, of course, I meant the 2001 World Series yesterday, not 2000.
E-mail: “Your correspondent’s view on Collingsworth’s criticism of the holder is legitimate, but something nobody has mentioned would have worked. While rolling out after picking the ball up the holder could have fired the ball into the ground beyond the line of scrimmage. He was “outside the tackle box” where intentional grounding is legal as long as the ball gets back to the line of scrimmage. As there were six seconds left at the start of the play, there still would have been two seconds or so left to try the kick on from the original line of scrimmage on fourth down.”
E-mail: “Young boys such as yourself are too
young to remember, but Dave Caspar and Pete Banaszak of the Oakland Raiders did that in the playoffs in the late 1970s, after which the league ruled that intentional fumbles aimed at advancing the ball or stopping the clock in the final two minutes of a game constitute a penalty.”
E-mail: “I do have the answer to your question about tossing the ball out-of-bounds to stop the clock. Well, actually, former NFL referee Jerry Markbreit does (see the third question).”