Politics & Policy

Ames Ballot Won’t Include Perry, Palin

The Ames Straw Poll ballot will include the six candidates who have bought space outside the arena (Michele Bachmann, Herman Cain, Tim Pawlenty, Thad McCotter, Ron Paul, and Rick Santorum) and three candidates who have officially declared presidential runs, but did not choose to buy a lot (Newt Gingrich, Mitt Romney, and Jon Huntsman), reports the Des Moines Register.

Sarah Palin and Rick Perry will not be on the ballot. But that doesn’t mean Palin and Perry fans will be left out in the cold: write-in votes will be counted, a first for the straw poll.

Katrina TrinkoKatrina Trinko is a political reporter for National Review. Trinko is also a member of USA TODAY’S Board of Contributors, and her work has been published in various media outlets ...


The Latest