Politics & Policy

Romney’s Foreign Policy and National Security Advisers


Mitt Romney announced his foreign policy and national security advisers today. 

“America and our allies are facing a series of complex threats. To shape them before they explode into conflict, our foreign policy will have to be guided by a strategy of American strength. I am deeply honored to have the counsel of this extraordinary group of diplomats, experts, and statesmen. Their remarkable experience, wisdom, and depth of knowledge will be critical to ensuring that the 21st century is another American Century,” Romney said in a statement. Full list of advisers below the jump.



·      Cofer Black

·      Christopher Burnham

·      Michael Chertoff

·      Eliot Cohen

·      Norm Coleman

·      John Danilovich

·      Paula Dobriansky

·      Eric Edelman

·      Michael Hayden

·      Kerry Healey

·      Kim Holmes

·      Robert Joseph

·      Robert Kagan

·      John Lehman

·      Walid Phares

·     Pierre Prosper

·     Mitchell Reiss

·     Daniel Senor

·     Jim Talent

·     Vin Weber

·     Richard Williamson

·     Dov Zakheim



Afghanistan & Pakistan

·     James Shinn, Co-Chair

·     Ashley Tellis, Co-Chair


·     Tibor Nagy, Chair


·     Evan Feigenbaum, Co-Chair

·     Aaron Friedberg, Co-Chair

·     Kent Lucken, Co-Chair


·      Eric Edelman, Co-Chair

·      Robert Joseph, Co-Chair

·      Stephen Rademaker, Co-Chair


·     Michael Chertoff, Co-Chair

·     Michael Hayden, Co-Chair


·     John Lehman, Co-Chair

·     Roger Zakheim, Co-Chair


·     Nile Gardiner, Co-Chair

·     Kristen Silverberg, Co-Chair

Human Rights

·     Pierre Prosper, Chair

International Assistance

·     Grant Aldonas, Co-Chair

·     Daniel Runde, Co-Chair

International Organizations

·     Christopher Burnham, Co-Chair

·     Paula Dobriansky, Co-Chair

·     Robert O’Brien, Co-Chair

Latin America

·     Clifford Sobel, Co-Chair

·     Ray Walser, Co-Chair

Middle East & North Africa

·      Mary Beth Long, Co-Chair

·      Meghan O’Sullivan, Co-Chair

·      Walid Phares, Co-Chair


·      Leon Aron, Co-Chair

·      William Martel, Co-Chair


Katrina TrinkoKatrina Trinko is a political reporter for National Review. Trinko is also a member of USA TODAY’S Board of Contributors, and her work has been published in various media outlets ...


The Latest