Bench Memos

New Composition of Senate Judiciary Committee

From what I hear, the membership of the Senate Judiciary Committee won’t be changing much. There will continue to be ten Democrats, led by chairman Pat Leahy, and there will continue to be eight Republicans, with Chuck Grassley the ranking member.

On the Democratic side, the only change is that Mazie Hirono, the newly elected senator from Hawaii, will substitute in for the retired Herb Kohl. The other Democratic members remain (in declining order of seniority) Dianne Feinstein, Chuck Schumer, Dick Durbin, Sheldon Whitehouse, Amy Klobuchar, Al Franken, Christopher Coons, and Richard Blumenthal.

On the Republican side, Jon Kyl has, alas, retired, and Tom Coburn is leaving the committee. The two new Republicans are newly elected senators Ted Cruz and Jeff Flake. The other Republican members remain Orrin Hatch, Jeff Sessions, Lindsey Graham, John Cornyn, and Mike Lee.

Most Popular


Regular Order

Jussie Smollett’s story has always sounded a little . . . extraordinary. Smollett, who appears on the television series Empire, says he was attacked on the streets of Chicago at 2 a.m. by two men who shouted racial and homophobic abuses at him, beat him, doused him with bleach, and fastened a noose around ... Read More