The Corner

Boehner Names the Benghazi Committee Members

John Boehner named the remaining Republican members of the Select Committee on the Events Surrounding the 2012 Terrorist Attack in Benghazi on Friday. The six additional members will join Chairman Trey Gowdy (R., S.C.) in investigating the attack and the administration’s handling of its aftermath. They are:

‐ Lynn Westmoreland (Ga.)

The new members have a range of congressional experience and committee assignments. Gowdy and Jordan are the only members of the House Oversight Committee, which has been one of the four committees examining the issue so far. Reportedly, almost every Republican in the House – 206 members – expressed interest in being on the select committee. The seven Republicans will be joined by five Democrats, who haven’t been identified yet.


The Latest