The Corner

DADT Repeal Moves Forward

The Senate voted 63-33 for cloture on repeal of Don’t Ask, Don’t Tell, all but assuring its passage.

Six Republicans voted ‘aye’ — Sens. Susan Collins (Maine), Olympia Snowe (Maine), Mark Kirik (Ill.), Scott Brown (Mass.), Lisa Murkowski (Alaska) and retiring Sen. George Voinovich (Ohio).

Retiring Sens. Jim Bunning (R., Ky.) and Judd Gregg (R., N.H.) were no-shows, as were Sens. Orrin Hatch (R., Utah) and Joe Manchin (D., W.Va.).

UPDATE: The Senate will vote on final passage of DADT repeal at 3 p.m. today.

Andrew StilesAndrew Stiles is a political reporter for National Review Online. He previously worked at the Washington Free Beacon, and was an intern at The Hill newspaper. Stiles is a 2009 ...


The Latest