The Corner

Only Nine GOP Members Voted Against Ryan

In the end, only nine Republicans voted against Paul Ryan for speaker on the House floor. That falls far short of the 45 who voted against him in the internal House GOP Conference yesterday.

The nine dissenters today (all of whom voted for Representative Daniel Webster of Florida) were:

Representatives Dave Brat (R., Va.), Curtis J. Clawson (R-Fla.), Louie Gohmert (R., Texas), Paul A. Gosar (R., Ariz.), Walter B. Jones (R., N.C.), Thomas Massie (R., Ky.), Bill Posey (R., Fla.), Randy Weber (R., Tex.) and Ted Yoho (R., Fla.).

Most Popular


‘Why Would Jussie Smollett Do This?’ They Cried

Brian Stelter, chief media correspondent for CNN, was baffled. “You know, we saw a lot of politicians and Hollywood celebrities and activists rally around Jussie Smollett's side as soon as he made these accusations several weeks ago,” he said on Saturday night after his own network, among others, had begun ... Read More
Film & TV

A Sublime Christian Masterpiece of a Film

‘There are two ways through life -- the way of nature and the way of grace,” remarks the saintly mother at the outset of The Tree of Life, one of the most awe-inspiring films of the 21st century. She continues: Grace doesn’t try please itself. It accepts being slighted, forgotten, disliked, accepts insults ... Read More