The Corner

re: Reading Frum

Without taking sides — I think these debates are crucial for conservatism’s future, especially now — David’s “reality check” sounded foreign as I was reading his post, while listening to Rush’s show today. Yes, Rush criticizes McCain. Yes, Rush criticizes some of David’s Comeback prescriptions. But does Rush want the Right to lose? Does he want Obama to win? The answer would be an obvious “no” to anyone who listens to Rush regularly. Both David and Rush realize we’re at war and it is out of a love for America that they argue for the future of the Right. If you listen to Rush’s show and have read David’s book, you know they both want to encourage thinking in the tradition of Friedman and Buckley. May the best Right ideas win.

Most Popular

Media

The Unseemly Urge to Excuse Jeffrey Toobin

Jeffrey Toobin, legal analyst for CNN and The New Yorker, was suspended from his jobs and subjected to a round of public mockery for visibly exposing himself while masturbating on a Zoom call with New Yorker colleagues. The call was designed to role-play post-election scenarios for a contested election; Toobin ... Read More
Media

The Unseemly Urge to Excuse Jeffrey Toobin

Jeffrey Toobin, legal analyst for CNN and The New Yorker, was suspended from his jobs and subjected to a round of public mockery for visibly exposing himself while masturbating on a Zoom call with New Yorker colleagues. The call was designed to role-play post-election scenarios for a contested election; Toobin ... Read More
Media

Jeffrey Toobin and Our Public-Hate Ritual

Oh, Jeffrey Toobin — let him among us with a free hand cast the first stone. Toobin, a writer for The New Yorker and fixture on CNN, was participating in a role-playing exercise on a Zoom call with his magazine colleagues, wargaming election-night scenarios. Toobin was standing in for the courts when he ... Read More
Media

Jeffrey Toobin and Our Public-Hate Ritual

Oh, Jeffrey Toobin — let him among us with a free hand cast the first stone. Toobin, a writer for The New Yorker and fixture on CNN, was participating in a role-playing exercise on a Zoom call with his magazine colleagues, wargaming election-night scenarios. Toobin was standing in for the courts when he ... Read More