Right Field

Hand of the Goddess

Official’s missed what was an obvious handball in the Women’s World Cup group-stage match between Equatorial Guinea and Australia.Guinea’s defender Bruna caught the ball in her team’s box after it bounced back from hitting the post following an attempt on goal by Australian striker Leena Khamis. The referee has expressed sorrow for missing the incident, similar to the one 25 years ago when the ref missed Maradona’s “Hand of God” goal in the 1986 FIFA World Cup quarterfinal between Argentina and England in Mexico City.


The Latest