The Campaign Spot

NY-20 Results Coming In

With 90 out of 610 precincts reporting, Republican Tedisco has a narrow lead over Democrat Murphy, 52 percent to 48 percent. About 700 votes separate the candidates at this point.

UPDATE: Interesting. County-by-county results from the 2008 House race can be found here. I’m getting my results from The Saratogian, here.

Murphy is now ahead by about 200 votes.

9:38 p.m. UPDATE: No sooner than I finish posting that than Tedisco goes ahead by about 800 votes.

I checked the results from 2008 in Saratoga County. Democrat Kirsten Gillibrand carried it, 58.7 percent to Sandy Treadwell’s 35.4 percent. So far, tonight, Tedisco is performing much better, 15,009 votes to 11,663, a 56-44 split.

9:42 p.m. UPDATE: With more than half the precincts reporting, it’s “tight as a tick,” as Dan Rather would say. Tedisco is ahead by about 320 votes.

9:44 p.m. UPDATE: From a political junkie reader: “My guess: Recount. The way both sides want to spin this, if it’s within 500 the lawyers will be air-dropped in.”

9:47 p.m. UPDATE: Results coming in really quickly now. With about two-thirds of precincts reporting, 424 out of 610, Tedisco leads, 52,815 to 51,878.

9:55 p.m. UPDATE: 496 out of 610 precincts reporting, Tedisco leads Murphy, 63,197 to 62,147 — a 1,050 vote lead.

9:59 p.m. UPDATE: 505 out of 610 precincts reporting, Tedisco leads Murphy, 63,923 to 62,811 — a 1,112 vote lead.

10:08 p.m. UPDATE: 534 out of 610 precincts reporting, Tedisco leads Murphy, 68,421 to 67,070 — a 1,351 vote lead.

Meanwhile, a Long Island reader notes that the Democrat won the Brookhaven town supervisor open seat mentioned earlier today.

10:13 p.m. UPDATE: Wow, just got a lot closer. With 591 out of 610 precincts reporting, Tedisco leads 74,251 to 74,221 — a mere 30 vote lead!

10:17 p.m. UPDATE: An astonishing turnaround. With only 3 precincts remaining, Scott Murphy takes the lead 76,573 votes to 76,321 — a 252 vote margin.

10:23 p.m. UPDATE: This is almost certainly going to a recount; I’m hearing contradictory information on whether these totals include absentees. Murphy 77,208, Tedisco 77,127, an 81 vote margin, with one precinct remaining.

10:29 p.m. UPDATE: There are 6,000 absentees, according to every other political junkie watching the race on my Twitter feed. Looks like no final decision tonight.

10:36 p.m. UPDATE: We’re not getting a winner tonight, folks. Word is “Absentee ballots and emergency paper ballots in the 20th Congressional District special election have been impounded under a court order, said Bob Brehm, a spokesman for the state Board of Elections.”

Most Popular

Politics & Policy

Basta La Vista, Baby

Dear Reader (And especially Martha McSally’s dog), As I often note, I increasingly tend to see the political scene as a scripted reality show in which the writers don’t flesh out the dialogue so much as move characters into weird, wacky, confrontational, or embarrassing positions. It’s a lot like The ... Read More

Betsy DeVos Strikes a Blow for the Constitution

The Department of Education has issued its long-awaited proposed regulations reforming sexual-assault adjudications on college campus. Not only will these rules restore basic due process and fairness to college tribunals, but they also — given how basic the changes are — highlight just how ridiculous ... Read More
Politics & Policy

ABC News Makes a Serious Mistake

Today, across Twitter, I began to see a number of people condemning the Trump administration (and Betsy DeVos, specifically) for imposing a new definition of sexual assault on campus so strict that it would force women to prove that they were so harassed that they'd been chased off campus and couldn't return. ... Read More