The Campaign Spot

Obama’s Fake Outrage, Fake Tirelessness, Fake Pay Cut . . .

Tuesday’s ;Morning Jolt:

Obama’s Fake Outrage, Fake Tirelessness, Fake Pay Cut . . . 

The Obama administration is dangerously depleting our nation’s reserves of speechwriting clichés.

For example, when some terrible mess blows up on the president’s watch, what does he say? Come on. You know it.

No one is madder than him.

After White House chief of staff Denis McDonough assured the public, “nobody is more outraged about this problem right now” than President Obama — an outrage that has yet to be expressed in anything more than pro forma public statements — Reid Epstein decided to look up how often the president assured all of us he was angry — or perhaps more angry than anyone else! — about failures of his administration or other setbacks.

It’s quite a list:

October 2013: “Nobody’s madder than me about the fact that the website isn’t working as well as it should.”

The IRS scandal, May 2013: “Americans are right to be angry about it, and I am angry about it.”

April 2012, the Secret Service prostitution scandal: “If it turns out that some of the allegations that have been made in the press are confirmed, then of course I’ll be angry.”

May 2010, the BP oil spill: “And I know that doesn’t lessen the enormous sense of anger and frustration felt by people on the Gulf and so many Americans. Every day I see this leak continue I am angry and frustrated as well.”

March 2009, the AIG bonuses guaranteed in TARP: “I don’t want to quell anger,” he said. “I think people are right to be angry. I’m angry.”

He forgot one, though, when Obama was “apoplectic”:

President Barack Obama is “apoplectic” about lavish spending at the GSA, one of his top advisers said Sunday.

“On the GSA issue, he was I think it’s fair to say apoplectic,” said David Axelrod, said on NBC’s “Meet the Press.” “Because we made a big effort to cut waste, inefficiency, fraud against government, saved tens of billions of dollars doing it on just this very kind of thing. And so this was very enraging to him, and, of course, he acted quickly, the administration acted quickly and changed the management there.”

At the time of the “apoplectic” comment, the president had not yet mentioned the GSA spending scandal in the preceding three weeks. Maybe it’s a really quiet anger.

Then, of course, there’s the tired cliché suggesting that president Obama will never rest. Ever.

APRIL 9, 2009: “And we will not rest until we reach a day when not one single veteran falls into homelessness.”

MAY 11, 2009: “I will not rest until the dream of health-care reform is finally achieved in the United States of America.”

SEPTEMBER 15, 2009: “I want you all to know, I will not rest until anybody who’s looking for a job can find one — and I’m not talking about just any job, but good jobs that give every American decent wages and decent benefits and a fair shot at the American Dream.”

NOVEMBER 2, 2009: “We will not rest until we are succeeding in generating the jobs that this economy needs.”

NOVEMBER 23, 2009: “I will not rest until business are investing again, and businesses are hiring again.”

This was a particularly good one, considering the time and the place: Obama, speaking from Hawaii, where he and his family are vacationing, told Americans, “We will not rest until we find all who were involved and hold them accountable.”

JANUARY 28, 2010: “We will not rest until we build an economy that’s ready for America’s future.”

MARCH 5, 2010: “I’m not gonna rest and my administration is not gonna rest in our efforts to help people who are looking to find a job.”

MAY 26, 2010 : “We will not rest until this well is shut, the environment is repaired, and the clean up is complete.”

Okay, BP did eventually shut down the well.

JULY 8, 2010: “My administration will not rest until every American who is able and ready and willing to work can find a job.”

That nice list above missed one big one, although this one was from Hillary Clinton:

What happened in Benghazi was a terrorist attack and we will not rest until we have tracked down and brought to justice the terrorists who murdered four Americans.

Yes, the “we will not rest” pledge is always an unrealistic promise. No, no preceding president gave up sleep after making a similar pledge. But there’s something about Obama’s promiscuous use of the pledge that makes everyone involved a little cheaper — his speechwriters for going back to that dry well again and again, the president for managing to deliver the line for the thousandth time and sounding like he means it, and everyone who applauds for acting like saying it means something.

As Frank Drebin said, “Wilma, I promise you; whatever scum did this, not one man on this force will rest one minute until he’s behind bars. Now, let’s grab a bite to eat.”

Remember “all statements from Barack Obama come with an expiration date”?

And then of course, there’s the symbolic pay cut:

The White House is refusing to confirm whether President Barack Obama followed up on his pledge to take a five percent pay cut due to sequestration last year.

Obama promised last April to take a 5 percent pay cut in “solidarity” with federal employees who were furloughed as a result of the automatic budget cuts, known as the sequester. The cut was meant to equate to the level of spending cuts imposed on nondefense federal agencies.

“The president has decided that to share in the sacrifice being made by public servants across the federal government that are affected by the sequester, he will contribute a portion of his salary back to the Treasury,” a White House official said at the time.

The White House would not respond to numerous requests submitted by the Washington Free Beacon to the White House press office to confirm that Obama did, in fact, write checks to the Treasury.

And then, of course, there’s the “I’ll-march-with-you” pledge to labor unions:

On Nov. 3, 2007, Barack Obama — then a senator running for president — pledged to a crowd in Spartanburg, S.C., that he would watch out for unions and protect their collective bargaining rights.

”If American workers are being denied their right to organize when I’m in the White House, I will put on a comfortable pair of shoes and I will walk on that picket line with you as president of the United States,” Obama said.

Which, of course, never happened. Even during the fights over collective bargaining for public sector workers in Wisconsin.

Iowahawk summarizes it well: “I pledge to have my top men get to the bottom of these phony scandals that I’m madder than hell to have only learned about from the papers.”

Most Popular

Politics & Policy

It’s the Stock Market, Stupid

Before going any further, I must say that I don’t believe Protectionist Donald really will go all the way with his present attempt to strangle global trade. I believe that the end run will be quite similar to what it was with the steel and aluminum tariffs — which is to say, a photo op in the Oval Office. ... Read More

Ten Things that Caught My Eye Today (March 23, 2018)

I send out a free weekly e-mail newsletter that typically goes out Saturday mornings and includes WFB flashbacks, Firing Line videos, upcoming events, and some of what I’ve been up to. Sign up here. 1. Cardinal Timothy Dolan in the Wall Street Journal: Talking about New York, he noted: 2. The Guardian on the ... Read More
National Review

Palm Sunday with WFB

The wonderful National Review Institute forum in New York City last month, held on the tenth anniversary of Bill Buckley’s death -- but truly a celebration of his life and legacy -- was captured by the good folks at C-SPAN, who now tell us that two panels of the forum will be broadcast this Sunday on C-SAN 3. ... Read More
Politics & Policy

The Sliming of Bari Weiss

If you follow at all the ideological war that’s erupted around the New York Times editorial page, then you know Bari Weiss. It’s too much to call Bari conservative. A better description might be heterodox. On some issues, particularly social issues and immigration, she’s a woman of the Left. On others — ... Read More
Politics & Policy

How the Nazis Used Gun Control

The perennial gun-control debate in America did not begin here. The same arguments for and against were made in the 1920s in the chaos of Germany’s Weimar Republic, which opted for gun registration. Law-abiding persons complied with the law, but the Communists and Nazis committing acts of political violence did ... Read More