The Campaign Spot

Pryor, Walsh Disappoint Liberals. Any Consequences, Guys?

ThinkProgress is not pleased that seven Senate Democrats just voted with Republicans to reject the nomination of Debo Adegbile, President Obama’s choice to head the Justice Department’s Civil Rights Division. Adegbile’s nomination was opposed by the Fraternal Order of Police in part because of his legal efforts to overturn the death sentence of Mumia Abu-Jamal, who was convicted in the 1981 killing of a Philadelphia police officer.

Those seven are, clockwise from top left, Senators Chris Coons of Delaware, Bob Casey of Pennsylvania, Joe Donnelly of Indiana, Heidi Heitkamp of North Dakota, John Walsh of Montana, Joe Manchin of West Virginia, and Mark Pryor of Arkansas.

Well, progressives and liberals, if you really wanted to send a signal, you could refuse to donate to the DNC and the Democratic Senatorial Campaign Committee this year, since they’ll be going all-out to help Mark Pryor and John Walsh win in 2014. (Coons is running for reelection and is considered safe.) You could even pledge to sit out those races, concluding that Pryor and Walsh won’t be there for you on the hard votes, the ones where you really see whether a lawmaker is committed to your values.

But I suspect you’ll just take it and learn to like it.


The Latest