editor in chief
Richard Lowry

Senior Editors
Richard Brookhiser / Jay Nordlinger
Ramesh Ponnuru / David Pryce-Jones
Managing Editor Jason Lee Steorts
Literary Editor Katherine Howell
Vice President, Editorial Operations Christopher McEvoy
Executive Editor Mark Antonio Wright
Roving Correspondent Kevin D. Williamson
Washington Correspondent John McCormack
National Correspondent John J. Miller
Senior Political Correspondent Jim Geraghty
Art Director Luba Kolomytseva
Deputy Managing Editors
Nicholas Frankovich / Fred O’Brien
Production Editor Katie Hosmer
Assistant to the Editor Stacey Brody
Research Assistant Justin D. Shapiro

Contributing Editors
Shannen Coffin / Matthew Continetti / Ross Douthat
Daniel Foster / Jack Fowler / Bryan A. Garner
Roman Genn / Jonah Goldberg
Arthur L. Herman / Yuval Levin
James Lileks / Rob Long / Andrew C. McCarthy
Reihan Salam / Andrew Stuttaford / Robert VerBruggen

national review online
Editor Philip Klein
Managing Editor Judson Berger
Submissions Editor Jack Butler
Senior Writers
Charles C. W. Cooke / Michael Brendan Dougherty
David Harsanyi / Dan McLaughlin
Staff Writer Alexandra DeSanctis
Critic at Large Kyle Smith
Art Critic Brian T. Allen
National-Affairs Columnist John Fund
Associate Editors
Jessica Hornik Evans / Molly Powell / Sarah Colleen Schutte
Nick Tell / Nick Tomaino / Craig Young
Content Managers
Kelvin Morales / Kathy Shlychkov / Calvin Corey
Web Producer Scott McKim
News Editor Jack Crowe
Media Reporter Ryan Mills
News Writers
Brittany Bernstein / Caroline Downey
Zachary Evans / Isaac Schorr

editors at large
Kathryn Jean Lopez / John O’Sullivan

buckley fellow in political journalism
Jimmy Quinn

thomas l. rhodes fellow
Daniel Tenreiro

collegiate network fellow
Nate Hochman

Hadley Arkes / Chester E. Finn Jr. / Neal B. Freeman
Charles R. Kesler / Tracy Lee Simmons / Terry Teachout

Vice President, Operations & Finance Tom Kilkenny
Accounting Manager Jessica Sevita
Accountant Vicky Angilella
Director, Circulation & Programs Danielle O’Connell
Director, Marketing & Growth Strategy Sarah Mendenhall
Audience Development & Community Manager Kristin Veltry
Graphic Designer Cristi Gutierrez Name
Manager, Office & Development Russell Jenkins
Executive Assistant to the Publisher John W. Bush III

Director, Sales Jim Fowler

E. Garrett Bewkes IV

Dale R. Brott

William F. Buckley Jr.

National Review Inc. board
Dale R. Brott
John Hillen
James X. Kilbridge
Rob Thomas


National Review (ISSN: 0028-0038) is published bi-weekly, except for the first issue in January, by National Review, Inc., at 19 West 44th Street, Suite 1701, New York, NY 10036. Periodicals postage paid at New York, N.Y., and additional mailing offices. © National Review, Inc., 2020. Address all editorial mail, manuscripts, letters to the editor, etc., to Editorial Dept., National Review, 19 West 44th Street, Suite 1701, New York, NY 10036. Address all subscription mail orders, changes of address, undeliverable copies, etc., to National Review, Circulation Dept., P. O. Box 433015, Palm Coast, Fla. 32143-3015; phone, 386-246-0118, Monday–Friday, 8:00 a.m. to 10:30 p.m. Eastern time. Adjustment requests should be accompanied by a current mailing label or facsimile. Direct classified advertising inquiries to: Classifieds Dept., National Review, 19 West 44th Street, Suite 1701, New York, NY 10036 or call 212-679-7330. POSTMASTER: Send address changes to National Review, Circulation Dept., P. O. Box 433015, Palm Coast, Fla. 32143-3015. Printed in the U.S.A. RATES: $59.00 a year (24 issues). Add $21.50 for Canada and other foreign subscriptions, per year. (All payments in U.S. currency.) The editors cannot be responsible for unsolicited manuscripts or artwork unless return postage or, better, a stamped, self-addressed envelope is enclosed. Opinions expressed in signed articles do not necessarily represent the views of the editors.